The Kiss – Reinvented

In photography we have a saying…and that is ‘KISS’ which is quite apt considering this blog is all about love and romance.

But wait…this ‘KISS’ means = Keep It Simple Stupid!!!!

Haha…it always makes me chuckle because the first time someone told it me I thought they was being personal. Anyway, I’ve always tried to apply this in my work (see above photo for natures colour wheel)…she always gets it right!! I used the colours from that photo to style a fashion shoot I did over a year later.

I adore how the simplest colour schemes can invigorate a whole room, a car even, a super outfit or indeed a wedding collaboration of make up artist, hairdresser, wedding planner and the bride herself.

One of the simplest tools I use is a colour wheel, you’ve probably heard of them and it puts colours together in a way in which they can be:

a) complimentary – always a good thing, haha
b) monochromatic – groovy
c) analogous – what?…am I losing you yet 😉

Go check out this fab colour wheel  I found eons ago on this student site, it’s still the best one I’ve used, because it’s so simple. There is a little tutorial at the bottom of the page, but it is very intuitive to use. Once you get a colour scheme you like, then and only then, pop over to Pinterest to get the matching colour scheme…you will then use Pinterest like a boss…

Own it girl, haha…

Peace out – from: Nancy Lisa Barrett Photography  x

Leave a Reply

